True Confessions of an Artichoke Lover!

Standard

      So…here I sit at my computer. “It is a Saturday nite and I ain’t got nobody…I got some money, cuz I just got paid….” ok I lied a little. I have my two most loyal companions a girl could hope for. My two pupster doggies, who are ALWAYS glad to see me! The husbands…didn’t quite turn out as loyal or full of glee to see the marvelous me…, but that is another story entirely. Artichokes represent soooo much goodness for me!

I was living in adventure filled Delray Beach Florida for 18 years, and I was on my way out! I was moving BACK to my beloved California and I was in that dreary state of packing up boxes and feeling very lonely but hopeful about my new life in Cali….My loneliness drove me to the grocery store where I always find comfort and strength. Aha!  There before me…stood the most gorgeous ARTICHOKE I had ever set eyes on!    I hadn’t dared eat one  since I set foot in Florida and there it was….”egging me on” so to speak!

I obsconded with my secret treasure and immediately found myself deeply imbedded in my ritual of cooking my artichoke to perfection with the savory flavors of  olive oil…rosemary,…and my delicious concoction of mayo….lemon..soy sauce and wine, And …there you have it!!!  The irresistable, unmistakenely, delectable, religious ritual of uncovering …the art and finesse of eating and  discovering the JOYS of being an Artichoke Lover!

Let me …let YOU…in on one of my biggest….secrets…when it comes to Artichokes!  This very enchanting….down right Gorgeous Man …who insisted on calling me  “Nut brown Maiden”…is the one who gave me Artichoke Lesson 101 at  “the very prestigious….”everybody who is any body, wants to be seen here, kind of organic,scene and be seen kind of  restaurant”. Davoods” in Mill Valley California! …Hmmm….a mere….38 years ago! And….I was TOTALLY young and in my Hey day and knew everything about anything!!

One of the most beautiful, delicious places I frequented in my twenties, and wish I could go back  to right now will always be DAVOODS! It was BEAUTIFUL…Had live gorgeous plants EVERYWHERE and all the food was natural, organic, and delicious!! I saw my hero…Joni Mitchell there one evening and it solidified my belief that this was the best place to be on the planet…but alas …it has now  been “replaced” with something with not nerely the finesse of Davoods!  But let’s not digress…. herin…lies my tulmultuous meeting with the ever spellbound glory and  power of the Artichoke!

I have to say. It teeter tottered on being one of the most  sensual, spiritual experiences of my life! Every time I now …allow myself the ritual of a lifetime….eating and experiencing an Artichoke…..my life….”unravels before me!”

Ok…so first you gently take a leave off of the treasured artichoke …dip it in whatever wonderful sauce that has been “created” and savor the unique flavors…..well you continually do this until you get to the “real heart of the matter” which happens to be the most delicious part of the Artichoke…THE  HEART!  You have to really WORK to get to the heart of the matter, but it totally rewards you!  If you have used the right “utensils” and you have loyally followed all the right directions….you end up a happy camper.!

The silver lining…is this!  You’ve done all this physical work to get to the heart of the matter. The  discarded …”.leafy baggage” is left all over the side roads of “pain or disdain”. Once you reach the heart of the matter, the REAL HEART of the ARTICHOKE…..the baggage seems very insignificant.

IF ….I would dissect my life…as carefully as I pull off the delicious leaves of the artichoke…..if I would take a careful look…at each leaf in life….before I devour it…perhaps….I would get to the “heart of the matter” with abit more steadfast intensity and less drama for all involved!   The artichoke always offers me …a delicious…adventurous journey. Not all Artichokes are created equal. Just like boyfriends and girlfriends, you must choose very carefully!

I had a rough day today. I came home to my loyal “companions” , who greet and welcome me with great love  all the time no matter what,and there lay…in the refrigerator…. an incredible Artichoke…all ready for me to embrace and dissect and discover ….my true journey…in …”getting to the heart of the matter, in the most delicious of ways!”

So….I did it. I devoured that great Artichoke and felt wonderful inside and out! Ah….the glories of the Artichoke!!!!!  It won’t EVER tell your secrets…..and it will always help you feel DELICIOUS INSIDE!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

