“A Blink of an Eye…”

Standard

  I just got inspired by my dear friend and fellow blogger to write something. I love it when that happens!  The part about Christmastime that I love the most, are the magical lights that  are mischieviously nestled in the most unexpected places…on rooftops….on railings, on the side of a beautiful home. They are the “unexpected joys” to behold as one drives..or better yet,  one strolls on by hand in hand with their loved ones. Christmas can be a festival of grace and love. It can also bring us into a place of lonliness and despair if we let our mind hold the reigns for too long.

I fell down a flight of stairs last nite. Couldn’t even tell you what happened. It wasn’t slippery. I have been very stressed as of late. I could tell you my sad stories but why? It ‘s like one of the “Old Timers” telling their tales of sickness…My father always liked to say…”I could “complain” but who wants to listen?”  The miracle is…(and Christmas truely is a time of miracles for all of us.) The miracle is for me…that I am CHOOSING to expect what I WANT…not what appears to lie before me. (Ha Ha! Pun intended!)

I continue to be grateful for the many many blessings I have around me. I continue to be grateful for the many blessings I feel coming my way and it fills me up in a “whole” different kind of way.

Take my son for instance. He is the  one that is smiling from ear to ear  on your right, as you view  the photo above. He is now almost 24. He is my best teacher. He is kind,GENIUS  kind of smart (ok, I’ve  got my brag book out now!) he is generous, he is an old soul full of love. And he is very funny. He  unabashedly loves me so much! Take my family: they are all so Regal to me. Princes and Princess’s living their lives, giving their generousities and love to the world where ever they see the need. They keep me filled with hope. Take my roomie. She many times, silently loves me thru the thick and the thin. We have great coffee klatch talks with our delicious “butterfly coffee” and we come to new awakenings about ourselves and our worlds.

These and so much more are my “festival of lights”…my reasons for loving myself through the rough patches. These are the secret lights, mischieviously nestled in the most unexpected places..If we look…we all have our “holders of the light and hope” for us, our street light beacons…kind of people in our lives. My son has grown from a teeny tiny miracle in my tummy, to a huge beacon of light for me…in a blink of an eye!  I know that troubles come and go…in a blink of an eye…but it certainly can feel like a lifetime of trouble when it is happening “to you”. When I feel that “trouble comes lookin for me”, especially at Christmastime, I know that those beacons of light on the rooftops, the railings, the trees, the snowmen, the wreaths on the door….everywhere you look…those are my messages to let MY light shine, no matter what my “circumstances” appear to be, and to trust in faith,hope and love, and LIGHT!

About mamalushka

Thanks for dropping on by! Behold the Tales that shall unfold from the middle child of a family of seven kids, Mother of one son, Early Childhood Educator for thousands of Dancing Toddlers over the years... and now...Happy Author of my first children's book "Freddie and Bibelle" ~ an Extraordinary Encounter between A Dazzling Butterfly Bibelle and a Red Eyed Tree Frog called Freddie! :)

One response »

Leave a Reply

